### SCOTTSDALE

## **CITY COUNCIL MEETING**

### **SPECIAL MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA**



#### COUNCIL

David D. Ortega, Mayor

Tammy Caputi Betty Janik Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Tom Durham Kathleen S. Littlefield Barry Graham Solange Whitehead

City Council meetings are also televised on Cox Cable Channel 11 and streamed online at <u>ScottsdaleAZ.gov</u> (search "live stream") to allow the public to virtually attend, participate telephonically, and listen/view the meeting in progress.

#### 3:30 P.M. MARKED AGENDA

#### CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING

City Hall Kiva Forum, 3939 N. Drinkwater Boulevard

Call to Order - 3:30 P.M.

Roll Call - All present (Councilwoman Littlefield participated electronically)

One or more members of the Council may be attending the Council Meeting by telephone, video, or Internet conferencing, pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431(4).

1. Boards, Commissions, and Task Forces Interviews and Appointments

#### How the Board and Commission Interview and Appointment Process Works:

The Council will spend a few minutes interviewing each board and commission nominee. The Council will make the appointment(s) at the conclusion of the interviews for each board or commission.

Board of Adjustment – Carlos Gantchoff and Randy Griffin were appointed to the Board of Adjustment, effective May 22, 2024.

Nominee(s): Carlos Gantchoff, Paul Garry, Randy Griffin, Jay Leopold Council to fill two vacancies (appointments effective May 22, 2024)

Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee – Darryl Komesu was appointed to the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, effective May 14, 2024.

Nominee(s): April Holland, Darryl Komesu, Robert Simmons, Tami Smith Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 14, 2024)

Environmental Advisory Commission – Alexandra Sellers was appointed to the Environmental Advisory Commission, effective May 22, 2024.

Nominee(s): Scott Newell, Nathan Nutter, Alexandra Sellers, Judah Waxelbaum Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 22, 2024)

PERSONS WITH A DISABILITY MAY REQUEST A REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION BY CONTACTING THE CITY CLERK'S OFFICE AT (480-312-2412). REQUESTS SHOULD BE MADE 24 HOURS IN ADVANCE, OR AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE TO ALLOW TIME TO ARRANGE ACCOMMODATION. FOR TTY USERS, THE ARIZONA RELAY SERVICE (1-800-367-8939) MAY CONTACT THE CITY CLERK'S OFFICE (480-312-2412).

### Historic Preservation Commission – Mark Estes was appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission, effective May 22, 2024.

Nominee(s): Kat Djordjevic, Mark Estes, Brandon Fadden Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 22, 2024)

### Human Relations Commission – Veronica Aguilar, Muhammad Babur, and DeMarco Cason were appointed to the Human Relations Commission, effective May 14, 2024.

Nominee(s): Veronica Aguilar, Muhammad Babur, Kris Cano, DeMarco Cason, Jeannie McKenna, James Somerville, Sarah Yaron

Council to fill three vacancies (appointments effective May 14, 2024)

### Human Services Advisory Commission – Roger Lurie was reappointed to the Human Services Advisory Commission, effective May 18, 2024.

Nominee(s): Lee Cooley, Ralph da Costa Nunes, Roger Lurie Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 18, 2024)

#### Library Board – Roselyn O'Connell was appointed to the Library Board, effective May 22, 2024.

Nominee(s): Dawn Abel, Suzanna Gutierrez Colby, Carrie Cox, Kathy Lane, Roselyn O'Connell, Janice Shimokubo

Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 22, 2024)

# McDowell Sonoran Preserve Commission – Kerry Olsson was reappointed, and Ryan Rybarczyk was appointed to the McDowell Sonoran Preserve Commission, effective May 22, 2024.

Nominee(s): Kerry Olsson, Michael Pomarico, Ryan Rybarczyk Council to fill two vacancies (appointments effective May 22, 2024)

## Neighborhood Advisory Commission – Bridget Schwartz-Manock was reappointed to the Neighborhood Advisory Commission, effective May 18, 2024.

Nominee(s): Bridget Schwartz-Manock

Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 18, 2024)

### Parks and Recreation Commission – Teresa Kim Quale was reappointed to the Parks and Recreation Commission, effective May 18, 2024.

Nominee(s): Jamie Alford, Teresa Kim Quale

Council to fill one vacancy (appointment effective May 18, 2024)

# Planning Commission – Barney Gonzales was reappointed to the Planning Commission, effective May 22, 2024. Michal Ann Joyner was appointed to the Planning Commission, effective May 18, 2024.

Nominee(s): Doug Craig, Barney Gonzales, Pamela Iacovo, Michal Ann Joyner Council to fill two vacancies (one appointment effective May 18, 2024; one appointment effective May 22, 2024)

#### Adjourn Special Meeting – 5:14 P.M.

 Mayor Ortega made a motion to adjourn the Special Meeting. Vice Mayor Whitehead seconded the motion, which carried 7/0, with Mayor Ortega; Vice Mayor Whitehead; and Councilmembers Caputi, Durham, Graham, Janik, and Littlefield voting in the affirmative.