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Acceptable Payment Methods and Dishonored Payment Policy 
 
Purpose:  
 

To identify the court’s policy on acceptable methods of payments and disposition of dishonored 
payments. 

 
Authority:  

 
Arizona Code of Judicial Administration (ACJA) 1-401: Minimum Accounting Standards Section 
E. Administrative Requirements; Arizona Revised Statute §12-116 

 
Definitions: 
 

Dishonored Payment:  Any payment presented to the court not honored by the financial 
institution, including a merchant chargeback. 

 
Guidelines:  
 

1.   The court accepts the following payment methods and they shall be posted in the court’s 
lobby. 

 
a) U.S. currency. 
b) Coin (over $5 must be wrapped with defendant’s name & phone number, as well as the 

case number written on the coin wrapper). 
c) Credit Cards – Most Major Credit Cards including Visa, MasterCard, American Express, 

Discover, Diners Club, JCB and any electronically Tap and Pay devices that is associated 
to a credit card. 

d) Debit cards (must have the Visa or MasterCard logo). 
e) Money orders, such as but not limited to: Western Union, United States Post Office 

(USPS), and Circle K. 
f) Cashier checks, certified checks or Traveler’s Checks. 
g) Checks - personal and business with one of the approved listed proper identification: 
h) Valid state issued driver license 
i) Government (military) or state issued photo identification card 
j) Passport 
k) Bankcard with embedded photo 
l) Any other forms of identification may be deemed acceptable upon the approval of   

Court Clerk II or above. 
m) Acceptable payment methods for bonds on cases with active warrants are U.S. 

currency, credit card, cashier’s check or money order, certified check or any check from 
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law enforcement or other government entities authorized to issue checks for this 
purpose.  

 
2.   The court does not accept the following payment methods: 

 
a) Foreign currency 
b) Foreign checks 
c) Counter checks 
d) Postdated, stale dated or 3rd party checks 
e) Personal or business checks without proper identification 
f) Personal or business checks as payment for an appearance bond meant to release 

someone who is currently in custody.  
 
3.   The court can accept a check from the defendant’s attorney’s trust account during normal 

business hours (Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM) with supervisor approval.  
 

4.   Court staff shall issue a receipt for all payments made in person and defendants/payers 
should be informed to keep their receipt as proof of payment. 

 
5.   A dishonored payment and/or non-sufficient funds shall be considered a failure to pay and 

as a result the defendant’s privilege to drive may be suspended; their vehicle registration 
may be subject to non-renewal and a warrant may be issued for their arrest.  In addition, 
the following fees shall apply:  

 
a) A $25 fee will be charged for all checks returned for non-sufficient funds, closed accounts, 

stop payments, or chargebacks on payment cards. 
b) A $20 Time Payment fee will be assessed for all dishonored payments, if the time payment 

fee was not already assessed on the case. 
c) A $65 Default fee will be assessed for all dishonored payments on all civil violations, if 

not already assessed on the individual charge. 
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