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Basics

Common misunderstandings...
* You are a Commercial motor vehicle.
» Referred to as a transportation cart in Scottsdale.
* You are NOT a motorcycle
* You are NOT a golf cart...golf carts are on golf courses or in Sun City.
* You are NOT a recreational vehicle.

» Your registration is only the classification of a recreational vehicle.
Under ADOT you are a commercial motor vehicle and must behave

like one. A.R.S. 8 28-5201 (1.)(e.)
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Basics

As a Commercial motor vehicle, you must...
* Obey all traffic laws as a car would.

» Just because you are small does not exempt you from obeying traffic
laws.

»If a car can’t do it, then neither can you.
»Be aware...If you chose to drive on roads with speeds over 35MPH and

cannot maintain the proper speed limit you CAN be given a citation.
»These carts are not designed for accidents at these speeds.
* You must have the proper equipment a car would.
» Seatbelts, front window, brake lights, proper tires, headlights...
* You must have a valid Drivers License.
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Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT)

What is New

* ADOT is now regulating transportation carts which carry passengers for
money (a livery vehicle or vehicle for hire) A.R.S. 28-101.

»That means you...

o Even if you “just work for tips” you are now a livery vehicle per the
State of Arizona.

o What does that mean to you...
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ADOT

You are now governed by stricter licensing and safety standards as you carry
passengers.

* You must register your cart(s) with ADOT’s Vehicle For Hire Unit at:

Taxi, Livery and Limousines | Department of Transportation
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https://azdot.gov/mvd/services/professional-services/vehicle-hire-licensing/taxi-livery-and-limousines

ADOT

* You must now have the ADOT Vehicle For Hire permit.

* A.R.S § 28-9503 (E.)

»The department shall revoke a permit if vehicle for hire company fails to
maintain the requirements for either of the following:
1. Motor vehicle licensing as prescribed by the department.
2. Motor vehicle insurance as prescribed by section 28-4033.

- A.R.S. §28-9503 (F.)

» A vehicle for hire shall have a copy of the permit issued to the vehicle for
hire company under this chapter inside the vehicle at all times.
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ADOT

* License Plate: The vehicle must have an ADOT/MVD-
approved license plate.

* Insurance and Registration: Current and correct insurance
documents and vehicle registration must be carried in the vehicle
at all times (A.R.S. 8§ 28-4039).
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ADOT
Insurance

* After the taxi, livery vehicle or limousine driver has accepted a
ride request through any communication and during the time in
which the taxi, livery vehicle or limousine driver is providing
passenger transportation, the taxi, livery vehicle or limousine
driver or the taxi, livery vehicle or limousine company shall
maintain the following commercial insurance coverage:

»Primary commercial motor vehicle liability insurance in a minimum
amount of $250,000 per incident, and

»Commercial uninsured motorist coverage in a minimum amount of
$250,000 per incident

»Each cart must have its own insurance policy.
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ADOT

* You must have the correct fare signage in your cart.
» Inside/Interior Signage:

» The complete permitee’s name (business name), driver’s name and business
address

» Accurate representation of all fares and fare computation method must be
displayed on either an interior sign that is readily visible in a print or electronic
format. (A.R.S. 8§ 28-9506 (A) (1,2,3,4).

o Fares cannot say “minimum” what is a minimum. Must say person, per rider
(for all) or for a set distance.

»In letters at least one-half inch in height.
o Violations of the above ARS are subject to a civil traffic fine in the City of Scottsdale.
»This sign can be no bigger that 7x7 inches on the passenger side and no

bigger that 5x5 on the driver’s side. Must not obstruct the driver’s view.
(ARS 28-959.01 citation)
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Enforcement

If you are found operating a transportation cart in Scottsdale as a livery
vehicle without the ADOT Vehicle For Hire permit to operate as a livery
vehicle you (the owner) will be charged with A.R.S. § 28-9521(B) M2,
along with any insurance violation ARS 28-4036.1 M3 and 28-4036.2
M1 (if involved in an accident) and your cart impounded.
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Enforcement

Any other violation of the State Livery law is subject to a Civil
Penalty imposed by the Director, which we will forward.

Seatbelts, obstructing the roadway, illegal parking, illegal U-turns,

equipment violations (illegal light colors)...are all available online
(ARS Title 28) or in any MVD booklet.

“l didn’t know” is not a legal defense.
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Enforcement

Children not being seat belted in.
* If you don’t have seatbelts DO NOT pickup families with children. No children on laps...ever.
* All passengers under the age of 16 are required to be properly restrained in any/all vehicles. If
the child is not restrained, yes the driver can be cited. 28-907. A and .B govern child
requirements. 28-909 .B1 and B2 discuss the driver failing to require passengers under 16 to
wear shoulder and/or lap belts.

ARS 28-907 (A) and (B)

A person shall not operate a motor vehicle on the highways in this state when transporting a child
who is under five years of age unless that child is properly secured in a child restraint system. Each
passenger who is at least five years of age, who is under eight years of age and who is not more than
four feet nine inches tall is to be restrained in a child restraint system.

ARS 28-907 (D)

If you are stopped and it is determined by the police officer that there is a child under eight years of

age and 4'9" or shorter in the vehicle that is not properly restrained, the officer will issue a citation.
1.  “Child restraint system” means an add-on child restraint system, a built-in child restraint
system, a factory-installed built-in child restraint system, a rear-facing child restraint system or a
booster seat as defined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 571.213.
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Transportation Safety Zone (1SZ) Map

Transportation Safety Zone

Camelback Rd.

Legend:

- 157

« =TSZ Sign

Osborn
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1SZ Rules

There are two laws (ordinances) written specific to transportation carts in the
Transportation Safety Zone: M1

« SRC 17-405b.1- no transportation cart may carry more passengers than there
are seats available within a passenger cart in the TSZ.

» This means each passenger in a seat, no sitting on laps. NOT if part of you
is touching the seat you are good. All parts and people must be inside the
linear square of the cart.

 SRC 17-405b.2- operating a transportation cart with reckless disregard for the
safety of persons or property within the TSZ.
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Licensing (Businesses with Taxable Activity)

You need a Transaction Privilege Tax license (TPT) through the Arizona Department of
Revenue listing the City of Scottsdale as your region code for these taxable activities.
(See AZTaxes.gov to register $12)

Advertising for local businesses on your cart (Sec 405 (a)).

» The carts are being driven around Scottsdale, so it is taxable to Scottsdale
regardless of where your company is located.

Tours

» Are taxable to the City of Scottsdale - If the tour starts here (regardless of
where they end up).

Cart Rentals

» If cart company is renting carts to the driver for their use (or the owner driving)
collecting a fee in Scottsdale.

(Charge) S.R.C. Appendix C, Section 350;
Operating a business without a license. (Scottsdale Model City Tax Code)
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Licensing (Businesses Based in Scottsdale)

You need a Business Registration license if your business office (or house
where you park your cart) is located in the City of Scottsdale — Regardless of
activity (see Business Registration ordinance).

» If, you are only accepting tips— The Tax (TPT) license through the State
Department of Revenue is not required.

> You still need all State ADOT licenses required for this activity.
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Licensing
Businesses located outside of Scottsdale

* If you are based out of another city, check with that city to
see if your business is required to hold a license with that
municipality.

»You still need a State TPT with the Scottsdale city code if collecting
fees in Scottsdale.

* Check with any other cities where you are providing this
activity to make sure you are in compliance with their
ordinances.
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Baseball Operations

* Alltransportation cart/ taxi cab pick-up and drop-off should be conducted in the
inside lane of Drinkwater (by the Stadium) between Osborn and the parking
garage entrance. A second pick up and drop off lane in available on Osborn to the
east of the Gate B entrance. A pick-up and drop off lane will be created for
transportation vehicles to use. This is NOT a sitting lane, but a pick-up and drop
off lane.

* Transportation carts and pedicabs are NOT allowed to stage along Osborn Road in
the bike lanes or sidewalks (SRC 17-345.11) outside of the Giants parking lot.
This would include the area from Drinkwater east to the 75 Street crosswalk.

* Atemporary no U-Turn sign will be placed at Drinkwater and Osborn to help stop
the constant circling and congestion of the transportation vehicles along
Drinkwater. The sign will prohibit S/B to N/B U-Turns on Drinkwater at Osborn.
Transportation carts may use 4t Street to cross Drinkwater to the appropriate
drop-off /pick-up area.
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Baseball Operations

You may pick up and drop off on 75" Street by Gate A. You may NOT stage at
this location.

» 4% Street from Drinkwater is Private Property of the Hospital. They allow
us and you to use this area for drop off and short cuts.

* DO NOT abuse this courtesy from the hospital | Abuse it and lose it.
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Baseball Operations
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Complaints

* Lacking proper equipment

* Not obeying traffic laws

 Parking wherever you wish (not legally)
* Flashinglights on your carts

e Loud music inresidential areas after 10:00PM
or after bar hours 0200 in the Downtown

* Fare disputes or not clearly explaining or
posting fares

* Not having proper documents (licenses)

(ITYOH@

)
SCOTTSDALE



Contacts

Sgt. Eric Bolles | ebolles@scottsdaleaz.gov

Sgt. Chris Hontz | chontz@scottsdaleaz.gov

Tax and Licensing Specialist, Sarah VanGoethem | SVanGoethem@Scottsdaleaz.gov
ADOT/MVD - Vehicle For Hire Unit | vehiclelicense@azdot.gov
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mailto:ebolles@scottsdaleaz.gov
mailto:chontz@scottsdaleaz.gov
mailto:SVanGoethem@Scottsdaleaz.gov
https://azdot.gov/mvd/services/professional-services/vehicle-hire-licensing/contact-vehicle-hire-licensing

Thank you

* Be safe
* Obey the laws
* Be good neighbors and partners with the City
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